Another small circuit in Uttarakhand of four pilgrimage sites-YamunotriGangotriKedarnath, and Badrinath is referred to as Chota Char Dham which is locally popular in North India.

1. Yamunotri 

Yamunotri Temple

The first shrine of Chota Chardham, this temple is dedicated to the River Yamuna (Hindu Goddess,Daughter of Sun God).It is situated in the Gharwal region of Uttarakhand State.

2. Gangotri 

Gangotri Temple

The temple is devoted to Goddess Ganges (the most sacred river in India). It is the second shrine of the Char Dham circuit.

3. Kedarnath 

Kedarnath Temple

This temple is devoted to God Shiva in the form of Kedarnath (Lord of Kedar). This is one of the 12 main Jyotirlinga in India. This is the third shrine of the Char Dham circuit.

4. Badrinath

Badrinath Temple

This temple is dedicated to Bhagwan Vishnu in the form of Badrinath (Lord of Badri). It is also the part of the main Char Dham Circuit in India and the fourth shrine of the Chardham circuit.

Uttarakhand, also known as Devbhoomi or the Land of Gods, is home to numerous temples and welcomes devotees all year round. Among the countless religious sites and circuits that devotees visit in Uttarakhand, one of the most prominent is the Char Dham Yatra. This Yatra or pilgrimage is a tour of four holy sites – Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath and Badrinath – nestled high up in the Himalayas. In Hindi, ‘char’ means four and ‘dham’ refers to religious destinations.

The high-altitude shrines remain shut for around six months every year, opening in summers (April or May) and closing with the onset of winter (October or November). It is believed that one should complete the Char Dham Yatra in a clockwise direction. Hence, the pilgrimage starts from Yamunotri, proceeds towards Gangotri, onto Kedarnath, and finally ends at Badrinath. The journey can be completed by road or by air (helicopter services are available). Some devotees even do a Do Dham Yatra or a pilgrimage to two shrines – Kedarnath and Badrinath.

The Yamunotri temple, lodged in a narrow gorge close to the source of River Yamuna (the second-most sacred Indian river after River Ganga) in Uttarkashi district, is dedicated to Goddess Yamuna. The district of Uttarkashi is also home to Gangotri dedicated to Goddess Ganga, the most sacred of all Indian rivers. Located in the Rudraprayag district lies Kedarnath, dedicated to Lord Shiva. Badrinath, home to the sacred Badrinarayan Temple, is dedicated to Lord Vishnu. The Char Dham Yatra is as divine as it is arduous but fulfills the soul!